Nils Foss

The Nils Foss Excellence Prizes

The nominees for 2017 have been selected, and the winners will be announced on 20 November.

Nils Foss

The 2017 nominees for the Nils Foss Excellence Prizes!

We are now ready for the 2017 annual Nils Foss Prizes and are proud to announce this year’s nominees. The winners will be announced on 20 November.


For the Nils Foss Excellence Prize, the Prize Committee has nominated Professor & Head of Research Group, Frank M. Aarestrup and Professor & Head of Department, Per Bruun Brockhoff.

For the Nils Foss Talent Prize, the Prize Committee has nominated Post Doc, Alexandru Luca, Assistant Professor, Kristian Holst Laursen and Associate Professor, Klavs Martin Sørensen. 

Read about the nominees
Kristian Holst Laursen

Introducing the Nils Foss Prize

Interview with Per Falholt, Chairman for the Nils Foss Prize Committee about why FOSS is introducing the Nils Foss Prize.


The award winner is an active and internationally recognized scientist who has shown at least 10 years world class innovative research leading to remarkable improvements in sustainability, quality or safety in the food supply chain.

The research areas are food, feed and agricultural science, applied science and/or analytical technologies within this sector. The research has led to remarkable results through innovative application of analytical technologies. It is seen as an advantage if the scientist has shown entrepreneurship in the application of the research.

The prize is EUR 100.000 of which at least 75% must be used for further research. In addition, the winner will receive a work of art.
Nils Foss Exellence Prizes
Nils foss talent prize


The award winner is a young, talented and promising scientist who has made a significant contribution to the application of technology to improve the sustainable use of agricultural resources and/or ensuring food quality and safety. The scientist has a maximum of five years research after completion of a Master/PhD, has shown an innovative approach and has the potential to make groundbreaking research.

The prize is EUR 15.000 and the use is without any limitations. In addition, the winner will receive a work of art.


The Prize Committee identifies and nominates the qualified candidates for both prizes. The selection process leads to a unanimous decision which is confirmed by FOSS.

Nomination for the Nils Foss Excellence Prizes is only by invitation from the Prize Committee.

Read more about the Nomination Process here.
The Committee
Nils Foss Prize

The Nils Foss Prize winners 2016

Here is an interview with the Nils Foss Prize winners, announced the 21st November 2016.

Winners 2016

Professor Rasmus Bro is awarded the Nils Foss Excellence Prize
Professor Rasmus Bro’s work includes the introduction of new mathematical methods to help make better use of the vast amounts of valuable data generated by modern analytical instrument platforms in use in the medical, pharmaceutical and food & feed industries. He has also pioneered a new mathematical approach to chemical analysis to aid environmental monitoring and has developed a revolutionary concept, Biocontour, for predicting the risk of developing breast cancer based on a blood sample test.

Dr Bekzod Khakimov is awarded the Nils Foss Talent Prize
31 year old Bekzod Khakimov has a PhD in metabolomics from 2013 and has continued as a post doc to build up his ‘Foodomics’ lab at Copenhagen University, a database of food compounds called the Copenhagen Open Metabolite DatabaSe (COMDAS) for facilitating easy assignments of food metabolites. Metabolomics is an exciting new area of food science with positive implications for future food production.
Read more
Nils Foss Prize Winners 2016