Nils Foss

The Nils Foss Excellence Prizes

Nils Foss

Winners 2017

Frank M. Aarestrup is awarded the Nils Foss Excellence Prize
One of Frank M. Aarestrup’s most important contributions has been to map out and prove that the use of antibiotics for animals actually has consequences and that we can do something about it by reducing the amount of antibiotics. With a background as a veterinarian, Frank M. Aarestrup started his work in the laboratory, researching bacteria in mastitis, and his journey has then taken him to the area of antimicrobial resistance and the spread of infectious diseases on a global scale. Currently working with building a global framework for surveillance of infectious diseases, Frank M. Aarestrup is making a true impact on global food safety and human health. 

Read more about Frank M. Aarestrup

Kristian Holst Laursen is awarded the Nils Foss Talent Prize
Kristian Holst Laursen's work with identifying and treating manganese deficiency in plants has had led to several international ventures, and his passion for solving local agricultural challenges has helped farmers all over the world. His latest research works to safeguard organic food producers by looking at plant authenticity, which can define and eliminate food fraud. 

Read more about Kristian Holst Laursen

The winners and nominees
Nils Foss Excellence Prize winners 2017

Introducing the Nils Foss Prize

Interview with Per Falholt, Chairman for the Nils Foss Prize Committee about why FOSS is introducing the Nils Foss Prize.


The award winner is an active and internationally recognized scientist who has demonstrated at least 10 years of excellent innovative research within the food, feed and agricultural area leading to significant:


  • Improvements in sustainability, quality and/or safety, and/or
  • Breakthrough through innovative application of analytical technologies

It is an advantage if the scientist has shown entrepreneurship based on the conducted research.


Candidates from universities or relevant industries are accepted as nominees.

The prize is EUR 100.000 of which at least 75% must be used for further research. In addition, the winner will receive a work of art.


Nils Foss Excellence Prize
Nils Foss Talent Prize


The award winner is a talented and promising upcoming scientist who has made a significant research or innovation contribution to the application of technology to improve the sustainable use of agricultural resources and/or ensuring food quality and safety.
The scientist has:

  • Demonstrated an innovative mind-set and approach
  • The potential to make ground-breaking research and innovation
  • Maximum seven years after completion of master’s degree

Candidates from universities or relevant industries are accepted as nominees.

The prize is EUR 15.000 and the use is without any limitations. In addition, the winner will receive a work of art.



The Prize Committee selects the final nominees and the winner for both prizes. The selection process leads to a unanimous decision which is confirmed by FOSS.

Nomination process 2018

Nomination to the Nils Foss Excellence Prize is by invitation only by the Prize Committee and the Nomination Network, consisting of people from universities and food industry. The Nomination Network is appointed by the Nils Foss Excellence Prize Committee.


Deadline for proposals June 10th, 2018

Nils Foss Excellence Prize Award Ceremony at FOSS in November 2018.

The Committee
Nils Foss Prize